Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Faces of Fiona #100

Fiona and the Faeries.

When granddaughter Fiona was a baby I had recently joined blipfoto and started numbering some blips of her with the intention of getting to #100 and then making a book. Well I think I’m there - this is Fiona’s blip. she’s now 41/2.

She has us in stitches much of the time. Yesterday I spent a block of time with her, just the 2 of us — we did some drawing in the studio and she thot she’d draw the faerie circle, but after several tries, she said we HAD to go there so she could check on who was who and organize them. We had just come back from a walk around the property during which she complained and fussed a lot saying she couldn’t walk that far, she was too tired, and got each of her parents to pick her up for part of the way.

So we start off, and this is our conversation:

Me: You know, Fiona, it’s a bit of a climb up to the Faerie circle and you are much too heavy for me to pick up so you will have to walk.

Fi: OK Nanna. we can walk. (says she, bounding ahead, non-stop talking all the way while I’m trying to keep up)

Fi: I’m going to do kick boxing so when I’m grown up so I can carry MY kid. (her Mom does kick boxing)

Me: That’s a good idea, but I’m too old to kick box.

Fi: (turning around to look at me) Yes, Kick boxing is NOT for old people!

Up to the Faerie circle lickety split - and we spend 30-40 minutes rearranging all the faeries —(I think there are 12-14?) into family groups, there is a summer group and a winter group. and a door on the fir tree for the little ones. Tinkerbell has 2 Moms, rose and Vanessa, and spends time with both. Fi decided that Tinkerbell needs a Dad, who will be the first boy faerie of the group.

So today we make Tinkerbell’s Dad. He’s the one on the left with the blue mouth (telltale blue paint on Fiona) and some red hair and green clay eyes and the duck tape shirt and pants but no wings. (I guess Dad doesn’t fly.) Today there is only one Mom : Rose. ( Vanessa is the grandmother) So of course we had to go back after it rained a very disappointing minimal amount (with Tatum and Mom this time) to bring Tinkerbell’s Dad so they could all meet each other. More rearranging, up and down. This time it’s harder as Tatum has her own opinions about who lives where. Now Fiona decided that Tinkerbell needs a husband or at least a boyfriend, so back to the studio, her Mom helps make a boyfriend for Tinkerbell, while Tatum and I are doing some paper mache on her cat and my penquin.
I suspect we will be back there tomorrow to introduce the boyfriend.

I’ve added just a few more pix, including the faerie circle on the Family flickr set

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.