twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

With Apologies to Alf

Busy, action packed day. After falling into a deep sleep to the hissing of cars outside my window, it was with relief and delight I woke to clearer skies.

Bike by 8; and out; working. First Cigs of the day at the top of Newhaven Road; and I realise I've left my memory chip at home....

I ploughed on with work; managed to squeeze a stroll with her from GP to practically home; then sped down down down to Leith, and spied - as you do - blip legend Alf Thomas - strolling off on his usual morning loop.

Having claimed my £50, we wandered beside the Watery Leaf a while, chatting and then the lure of a 1030 in Sandport Way meant I had to let him get on with shooting swans (photographically speaking)

As I tried to get from the bowels of Leith to the House of Muir in an unfeasible 14 minutes, I again encountered the man himself; took his pic (not sure the photo did the subject justice - I'm rubbish at people photos) and went back to work.

Was home for lunch, bought a bike (not for me, sadly) and then out again - back to Leith, the Sicilian Pastry Shop on Albert St featured as I Was due to call on Bill later; wound my way from Abbeyhill (where the laundrette is) to Duddingston onto Joppa and back along the seafront at Porty, climbed on a roof to get a Cigs shot - don't think it'll make the cut today; I want to do it at night and get car lights in the shot.

And a pleasant hour with Bill; since becoming a grand father, he's so much lighter and happier (spiritually at least)

Then home, Asda, dropped her shopping and at 9.15 I'm going to go and cook supper up in town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.