Olde Sweet Shoppe

Hitchin this morning. Outside the Olde Sweet Shoppe where I had just brought 100g of licorice torpedoes. I have to say that whilst the licorice torpedoes are a very nostalgic indulgence, asking for 100g instead of a quarter didn't feel quite right. I could have asked for a quarter and I know they would have understood what I meant, but they were young attractive girls and I needed to show that I was not as old and out of touch with the world as my addiction to licorice torpedoes might suggest. I could feel them ogling my backside as a sashayed out of the shop. Not sure what the sniggering noises were all about.

Playing investment banker today. Told the financial adviser to take a hike as his companies charges were too high, so I'm doing it myself. Got Diana to set up a regular saver with HSBC for herself. She doesn't have internet banking so had to phone up. I think they asked her everything but her inside leg measurement. She had to leave the room in the end in case they heard me blowing my top. 20 minute call on a premium rate number to set up a savings account with the same bank that already holds her current account. Is there room on the bonfire for this lot? Of course there is.

Roll on November 5th. I have my matches and a can of petrol at the ready.

Classic car show tomorrow. The weather had better improve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.