PRAWNS

The surveyor came this morning and surveyed the bathroom and cloakroom. He had a lot of queries about various things which the designer who came on Tuesday had not made clear on the plans. In the end everything was sorted. I just have to wait now till I hear about a fitting date. The surveyor said that the job would take 9 to 12 days. Not looking forward to that part of it.

Neil came here late last evening after work and stayed overnight. He had a day off today so he got up early and watched the Ryder Cup on the computer till he went home around 3pm.

Seem to have had a day of being busy doing nothing. I didn't go out for a walk so blip opportunities have been limited. I decided to stick with the theme of Foodie Friday. Here are the prawns I had for a snack. My daughter Becky loves prawns but she would never buy them with their shells on as she hates peeling them and gets a bit freaked out by the eyes and the long, whiskery antennae. I am not all that keen on the shelling business but I think the ones bought in their shells taste better so I put up with it.

Prawns have a head, tail, five pairs of swimming legs, five pairs of walking legs and numerous pairs of head appendages. The front three pairs of legs have claws. Prawns have an external skeleton or shell - the front part of this shell is called the carapace. It covers the head and protects the vital organs such as the heart, brain, gills and stomach. On top of the carapace is a long, serrated spike called the rostrum. Faced with all this its no wonder Becky gets a bit squeamish. Who else does too?

Steps today - 5,189

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.