Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All around my hat

Archie was rather subdued this morning - after a wee token tug of war game, he jumped on to my lap and slept - on his back, legs akimbo (his usual pose) for a couple of hours. Of course, this meant I could not disturb him, but had to stay on the sofa and watch Sunday am TV, read the papers on my iPad, and have coffee and muffins brought to me. Good excuse!

Later in the morning he and I were out in front garden - me chopping up kindling from the pallet I procured a month or so ago, and Archie, when he wasn't trying to snaffle the dangerous wee splinters of sharp hard sticks (the nice old soft safe wet bits in the garden were deemed too boring) merely glanced through the gate at passers-by but took no notice. All good.

Then he was sick. So glad it wasn't in my lap!

At one point, he was nowhere to be seen. I always like to know where he is, but I had been in the shower. JR had discovered him skulking behind the sofa, quietly chewing on MY HAT!!

The hat that I cannot leave the house without.

The hat that I love, that cost me a large enough amount of money that I haven't quite got over the shock yet - four years later!

I am always careful to put it up high, as he LUSTS after it. I think he got it from the telephone table - he may have been aiming for my scarf carelessly left in view - I forget how tall he is now - and couldn’t believe his luck when THE HAT came down as well!

Anyway, only one button had been chewed off, but fortunately had not yet been swallowed. I just could not have waited for it to emerge then sew it on again…

Let the punishment fit the crime, again, Arch.

PS If you didn't have this earworm before - you'll have it now!

PPS Or else you're too young!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.