Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Digging in the Garden? Moi?

Popped up to the doctor this morning, and I'm delighted to report that the sore arm(s) that have been plaguing me and getting worse for the past year or so, have miraculously disappeared with the pills the doctor gave me a couple of weeks ago. In fact, for the first time in ages, I'm feeling quite well. Makes me look back to even the Morocco trip at Easter and realise that it was quite a struggle at times.

I tried a wee experiment with Arch. I left him with access to the house (he's normally shut in the kitchen), so that he could watch me going out the gate. I've done it a few times just taking out the rubbish. This experiment was not without danger - in the lounge are all sorts of goodies he's very interested in - the coal bucket, the log pile, the magazines and remote controls on the coffee table... I was much longer than I anticipated, but when I came back and opened the gate, his wee head popped up at the window - he must have just stayed on the chair and waited. But no crying.

We fiddled about in the front garden. A big black lab came and looked in the gate. A quiet, but excited Archie. The lady admired the path, she'd been watching it being laid. We got chatting, and she and the dog, Mozzie, came in and we talked about dogs. She owns a big old Campervan that I see in the neighbourhood. She rents out her flat in the Festival every year and heads off in it. My kind of person!

Just sold the Home Cinema on Gumtree. Could it have been the 'free bag of popcorn' that got the punters flocking?

I washed the path. Then washed it again after Archie and Mozzie had played on it. This is actually the unwashed version.

On Friday we were expecting a visit from our very pregnant ex-neighbour but she didn't arrive (all the more muffins for me!) A text arrived later in the evening saying she was taken in to be induced! A wee boy arrived last night. So happy for them!

Just had the most amazing offer of a house swap with people who own a luxury flat in Hyde Park, Sydney!

My favourite city.

My favourite kind of accommodation...

But I'm afraid that house swapping is not really an option now, although a house swap with a dog was how we discovered the lovely Henry, and schnauzers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.