We will remember them

Spent the day at home. Weather was damp and cold. I sorted through my wardrobe and put some summer clothes into storage and got some winter clothes out. I was intending to do some ironing but I remembered that the findmypast website was having a free weekend so I have spent some time doing family research.

Listened to the football on the radio this afternoon. Newcastle are on a roll at the moment. Another win. They were playing away at West Bromwich Albion and won the match 2 - 0. Looking forward to seeing the highlights on Match of The Day later.

Cooked my evening meal, ate it and had just settled down for an evening of TV viewing when Neil arrived. So I set to and cooked him a meal.

The Forum Challenge today is Seasons. Thought the most appropriate blip for today would be to mark Remembrance Sunday. I bought this commemorative plate many years ago from The Royal British Legion.

I saw this poem online today - composed by a local man.

I Am Not a Badge of Honour

I am not a badge of honour,

I am not a racist smear,

I am not a fashion statement,

To be worn but once a year,

I am not glorification

Of conflict or of war.

I am not a paper ornament

A token,

I am more.


I am a loving memory,

Of a father or a son,

A permanent reminder

Of each and every one.


I'm paper or enamel

I’m old or shining new,

I’m a way of saying thank you,

To every one of you.


I am a simple poppy

A reminder to you all,

That courage faith and honour,

Will stand where heroes fall.


Steps today 4,817

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.