andypowe11

By andypowe11

Jennifer Juniper

Daffodils from Mother's Day.

Jennifer Juniper lives upon the hill,
Jennifer Juniper, sitting very still.
Is she sleeping? I don't think so.
Is she breathing? Yes, very low.
Whatcha doing, Jennifer, my love?


Jennifer Juniper
Donovan

When I was 18 I lived in upstate New York (in Rochester to be precise) with my family for 6 months. My dad worked for Kodak and got a transfer from the UK to the US because of the research he was doing.

In the US there used to be (and quite possibly still are, I don't know) a lot of 'garage sales' - like a jumble sale in the UK but where all the stuff for sale comes from one household. We seemed to spend a lot of time at garage sales, at least that's how it seems to me now! Two of the things I recall buying were an old fashioned record player (you know... one of those square box-shaped ones) and a copy of The Hurdy Gurdy Man by Donovan.

I have no idea why I bought that particular record - I suspect it was the only record that was for sale! Like much of Donovan's work, it's very variable. In the main I prefer his more frivolous stuff, of which Jennifer Juniper isn't a bad example.

I was originally thinking of Mellow Yellow when I took this shot but looking around on Spotify I realise that track isn't on the album :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.