a town called E.

By Eej

Bleeding, Broken or Weeping

As if speaking a language that isn't your own isn't difficult enough I also have to deal with the difference between British-English and American-English.
The English that was hammered in my head in high school makes some Americans go: "what?" like when I say 'aluminium'. Sometimes I have to explain that it's not because I'm Dutch and pronouncing it wrong, it's because I speak Brit. I say 'Slanted' and 'can't' and 'plant' like I'm *insert British sounding person here*
I get asked if I'm British more often than I'm asked if I'm Dutch, but my British friends say I sound decidedly more American than I used to, my family accuses me of sounding American even when I speak Dutch and the Beloved says there's nothing American about my cursing.

It's enough to throw oneself into an identity crisis.

And then there's plants. It took me weeks to come up with 'honeysuckle' (kamperfoelie) when I saw it in someone's front yard, and it took several tries before my explanation of 'stokroos' made someone go: "Ooooh! Hollyhocks!"
Nowadays I Google the Latin name first and go on from there, but I wasn't always that smart :)

These amazingly green thingies are budding Bleeding Hearts, aka Broken Hearts or how I know them: Weeping Hearts (Tranend Hartje)
We'll just go with Dicentra Spectabilis 'Alba' and be done with it :)


The colour comes straight out of the camera, I didn't do anything to it. Nature is a flippin' miracle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.