Statto bakes a cake or two

...and munchkin waits patiently to snaffle one. I saw patiently. I mean "Mum, when are those cakes going to be ready", repeatedly, until I left my spreadsheets and went and iced them. I didn't even realise he had come into the kitchen at first...I was just taking photos to mark the occasion of my stepping away from the computer. Doesn't miss his opportunities does he?!

As I am Statto, I will tell you about my day, in numerical terms.

I have spent 8 hours in front of my computer. I have created 3 Excel workbooks, each with 13 worksheets in them. On each worksheet, there are approximately 2200 formulae or cell references. That works out to about (roughly!) 215,000 formulae altogether. Fortunately, I am fairly nifty with a spreadsheet, so I set the first one up, then replicated it. I have still had to populate each sheet with data, cross check and make sure that rogue gaps haven't caused any of the sheets to stop working properly.

Sadly, I am really chuffed with them. I have achieved my objective, which is to set a system up that can now run at 3 key points during the school year, that will provide analysis for all year groups for all subjects. With a LOT less time being spent on my part, and very little to be done by my colleagues except interpret the data.

Happy days.

In addition, I made 18 brownie cakes, but I got the mix wrong, so they didn't cook. That NEVER happens to me. I was a teensy weensy bit peeved (shouted at the cooker!).

Not so happy days.

With grim determination, I set about making another batch of cakes - I WAS going to produce something lovely and not just be able to say my day was about flippin' spreadsheets. So 12 more cakes were produced, and iced. James tells me they're lovely! I of course had to verify this to be true, so I have eaten two of them.

Fat girl.

Now it's time for a cup of tea.

I think I deserve another cake now.

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments yesterday. I think I have managed to drop back and say thank you personally to every one of you. If I haven't, I'll be there soon!!!

xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.