a town called E.

By Eej

Flying high ...

... like a fish in the sky

After work, after groceries, the Beloved dropped me off at the Fish Hatchery for some R&R all by myself.
That was the plan at least.

On the path to the showpond I could already hear voices. Determined to not interact with anyone but nature I ignored everything and went over to their butterfly garden.
A ginormous bumble bee was, from what I could see, in distress as he was clinging on to the stem of a flower, high above the path. Well, high if you planned on falling down. I saved the bee by letting it climb on a stick and trying to put it on a flower. It fell down again, this time in a patch of green where I couldn't see it anymore. At least now nobody could step on him.

Butterflies were all around and just as I was getting ready for some good shots I heard: 'Do you want to meet Chewie?' A boy of about 8 or 9 stood next to me with an enthusiastic lab-mix ready to pounce on me. 'Sure' I said as the puppy jumped up and immediately plopped down showing me his tummy. 'He likes you' said the boy. We talked a bit about Chewie's age (he didn't know) and how long he had been living with him and his family (he didn't know). Then one of the other boys (I counted 4 of roughly the same age. Poor Mom.) came up to me and offered me his fishfood. The Hatchery has a feeder and for a quarter you get a good handful. Unless you hand it over to a stranger :)
I thanked him and went to feed the fish.

When I was done with that they were back on the dock with me. 'Do you want to see the pike?' Do you want to see the corpse?' Do you want to see the other pike?' I said a firm 'no' to the corpse, but agreed to the pike. 'It's THIS big!' they said. 'And it has a thing on its back!' Just what I wanted to see. 'Maybe it's a parasite!' Maybe another fish bit him!'

So much for solitude. Much better, this :)


The boss came to talk to me today about Mopey Moperton. I didn't mention the changing of the station ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.