a town called E.

By Eej

201 -Reflections

First of all, thank you very much for the lovely and sometimes touching comments I received yesterday. I'm going to take my time visiting everyone, because if you can find time to congratulate me, I can certainly find the time to come thank you :)
I'm quite content that many of the people that stopped by seem to recognise my Blip-feelings and learning process. We seem to be 'in it' for similar reasons :)

-----

If you can count the things you know about baseball on one hand three fingers, like me, having a weekend dubbed 'Charlie Maxwell Days' doesn't mean much. It does for this town with 3500 inhabitants, and not a lot of 'fame' going on: Charlie 'Two Paws' Maxwell is our claim to it.
Maxwell played for the Detroit Tigers, the Boston Red Sox, the Baltimore Orioles and the Chicago White Sox before retiring in '64. He still lives in town and the Beloved said that if we time it right we can run into him at the grocery store, but seeing how I'd never have the nerve to say anything anyway that would just be awkward.

We had to go to a baby-shower first, so we missed out on the reception, parade and plaque dedication but we did have time to go see the vintage baseball game between the House of David Echoes and the (honourarily managed by mr. Maxwell himself) Paw Paw Corkers. I'd never seen a 'live' baseball game, and to see one played by the rules of 1860 was excellent fun. There were no gloves! (No Gloves, No Fear, was the motto), the pitcher said: 'Strike well, sir!' before throwing the ball and we yelled: 'Huzzah!' and 'Leg it' at what I reckoned were the appropriate moments.
The umpire fined one of the Echoes 25 cents for having a flask with alcohol in it, but only after tasting it three times. He also scolded the Corkers for having bare arms.
On a sunday.
I felt like twirling my parasol, fanning myself and coquettishly saying: 'Oh, Sir!'

We did lose rather splendidly, even with the Echoes playing so gentlemanly that they kept from crushing the Corkers completely.

I think I like baseball :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.