Instography

By Instography

St Giles from Advocates Close

Today, I woke on the edge of dawn and sadly, it was time to get up. Usually when I wake in the dark I know I can have another wee doze but the man on the radio was talking so there was no doubt. That's the first time this year I've showered in the dark, which I do mainly because the light is far too bright for someone just awake, even with one of the halogen bulbs gone. I also hate the sound of the fan above the shower that's supposed to extract the steam so we risk mildew. I think Mandy's happy with the risk since it's less noise to wake her from the wee bathroom right beside her head.

It was a lovely dawn though. While I was sitting drinking my coffee I could see the sky turning fiery red so I left the house early just to stand at the promenade and watch it. And if I hadn't got this, it would have been a mildly cheesy dawn photo.

I've been casting glances up and down the Royal Mile closes for months now thinking that they would make a nice series but most of them are filled with bins and garbage. Advocates Close is a classic view out across the Scott Monument and Princes Street and (I must confess) I've seen it done looking out onto the High Street. The sky was still nice and warm by the time I got to Edinburgh so today was a good opportunity. I've probably got piles from sitting in the Close waiting for something interesting to pass by. It looks good enough without a pedestrian but like most of these scenes, a wee person adds a bit to it. I'd love to thank this woman and her lovely bicycle and swooshy coat.

The rest of the day was nothing special - a trip to Waterstones for a book for Ewan and a trip to Jacobs for more gear lust and to buy a Think Tank belt so that I can take things out of my bag and ease the burden on my right shoulder. Carrying less stuff would also work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.