middleman

By middleman

Paddy

That's the name of my dentist down in Morningside. Got there a little early for my appointment this morning and remembered about the vacant shop with the artwork in the window at no.350. Then discovered there's also something happening at no. 358 as well. Bit of info on the shop window saying that the work is by recent Edinburgh College of Art graduate Sophie Orton, all part of the artist-led initiative Coup Red. The work in the two shops is very hard to photograph in isolation because of all the reflections from the windows and the fact that Morningside Road at 9am on a Monday morning in a blizzard presents its own problems when it comes to blips, but the results are interesting at least. I asked my girls if I should upload 'clouds' or 'dog with sausages'. They went for the animal-themed one but I'm afraid I over-ruled them, seniority and all. Couple of nearly made-its here.

Bit of great music found today, the new single from Maxxi & Zeus, a couple of Manchester DJ types who've done plenty of stuff over the years under diffferent guises but now seem to be carving a nice niche for themselves with laidback dance/ambient stuff featuring sampled vocals and new-age leanings. I'm convinced this latest one American Dreamer samples some 60s counterculture film heavily (Zabriskie Point perhaps?) Damn fine tune and did me right proud on my snow-crunching walk to and from the Cameo where I sat in a big chair by myself down the front of Screen 1 and was thoroughly entertained by new release movie Monsters. Incidentally, the main guy in it was a photographer with a Canon DSLR who was trying to get back to the US through Mexico and had so many amazing blip opportunities it was untrue!

*And it turns out that the dialogue in the music link is actually Search On, Man by Jim Morrison *

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.