Cutty's, Sandwiches, etc.

My last day in Boston with Steph. We started it off lazily with Russian tea cookies and our respective hot teas.
I packed myself up, we loaded the car, and we headed to Cutty's Sandwich shop in Brookline.
Mike remembered that he had interviewed the owner/chef for a sandwich feature a few month's ago in Spirit - Southwest's in-flight magazine. The chef of Cutty's, Charles, is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America and former editor at Cooks' Illustrated. Really nice guy. And the sandwiches were delicious... They smelled even better than they looked, too. Steph ordered the roast beef with crispy shallots and I had the Swiss Chard with shallots and saffron yogurt. I need to remember to include a link to the menu here. He also said he could set us up with a tour of Cook's Illustrated next time we were in town... (Mike, this is directed at you. Yes, please!)

A stop off at Parrish to pick up my favorite sandwich in Boston to consume on my way back to Texas concluded our day out and about. I love, love, love the Steak & Blue sandwich.

(There was some light shopping between the two sandwich ventures - just so you know I'm not a complete clone of Liz Lemon.)

I also, fortuitously, evaded the body scanners yet again. They stopped scanning immediately after the man in front of me walked through. I was just about to ask for a friendly pat down.
And now I sit on my 4 hr flight from Boston to Houston, drinking a cup of coffee. I'll land at 10pm CST and pick up my bags to drive home to Beaumont. Hopefully walking in the door by midnight.

Thank you, thank you - Steph and Justin for being such amazing hosts to Mike and me this weekend. Everything was wonderful. Thank you for the bling - oops! I forgot the ring! (wink, wink) and the best breakfasts and homecooked meals. I loved meeting your friends and spending time with y'all this weekend. Come, stay at our homestead. I'm sure it will be well equipped upon your arrival... ?

Oh! Since I've backblipped the end of 2010, I'm happy to say that I've finally made a full year - January to December - of blipfoto entries. I'm hoping that this iPhone will enable and encourage me to continue clipping each consecutive day. As this whole 400+ photos in a row has really solidified a habit for me. I just reached 800 photos a few entries ago and I wouldn't even dream of letting myself miss a day. I enjoy the reflecting too much. It's true therapy for me to get my thoughts out. I just love it - simply put.

Well, three more hours on this plane. I'd say I have some Fruit Ninja-ing to take care of. The food on the flight sucks and I can't reach my sandwich. Boo.

Cheers and happy January...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.