MallyC

By MallyC

Schefflera - Umbrella plant

I inherited this plant as a stunted, pot-bound tatty pot plant. Intention was to look after it until the previous owner returned from overseas. Well after re-potting, regular fertilizing ( with vege water from steamed veges) and some TLC I now have this glorious green plant that is flowering!!!

I have had umbrella plants in varoius homes over many years but never knew nor saw any in flower. The flower head starts off as a nobbly growthg at the top iof the leaf stem and then very slowly - months - it begins to morph into something like a broccolini head. Myriad tiny wee flowers which then spend a seed. I tried to get a clear image of the flower but they were all too blurry so I shall have another go with the camera on the tripod.

But for todays blip I thought I would tantilise you with the magnificent beast itself...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.