Displacement activities

By Detritus

Treats Ice Cream

This shabby looking cafe lives in a park which I frequented most days as a child, we'd play football between the oak trees at the top of the hill, and descend to the river to cool down. No cooling required today, it felt bitterly cold. I was at work, but had two meetings close to here, with a half hour break inbetween, so thought I'd eat my lunch in the park.

On my mind recently is the fact that many of us wander through our hometowns knowing little of their past. In particular, I've become aware of lots of remnants of 20th century warfare lingering. It's a subject which is increasingly grabbing my attention.

Norfolk had 39 airfields in the second world war, many in American hands. This cafe was part of the USAAF hospital, I don't know it's actual use at that time, but I'm all for warfare being phased out and replaced with Treats Ice cream (Loved that sign on the side).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.