Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Leapin' Lizards!!

This charmer is a no doubt a relative of the fellow I blipped a few days ago. They are prolific in this semi-tropical climate, and now that Spring has arrived, they are all out, doing their thing. I live in a second floor apartment with a small screened porch. The lizards are sufficiently agile to climb up and also to squeak through the smallest cracks to get inside the screening.

The other evening, 27 Feb., I was sitting on the porch and took some photos of a little acrobat, but couldn't blip him because I'd already blipped for the day. I did post the photos to Flickr if you'd like to see the lizard at a different time of day and with blue sky behind him. This particular specimen is about 6-7 inches nose tip to tail's end.

Many thanks to all who visit, make comments and enjoy my photos. Guess you can tell I am enamored of all things natural, and Florida has blippable wildlife in abundance. It is my home state and so have had many years to study and admire the rich diversity of flora and fauna. I am constantly amazed by how well our wild friends have accommodated themselves to the rampant growth and development that has occurred in Florida since the mid-1970's. Some of you have visited Florida on holiday and i hope you had a chance to go deeper than Disney and the other theme parks to see the 'real' Florida - the one I grew up with and that still exists in pockets (and on my porch screen!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.