A Ramblers Tale

By ramblerstale

This fragile Breath

I was up with the sin, left my house that early, and drove home in the sunset, whew what a long day. twelve hour days aren't my favorite for sure. I was driving home and I saw an old woman in the back of the ambulance and was reminded how fragile life is. Sometimes i define myself by the things that surround me. Things like my job, thinks like the emotions I have, things like how the church views me. Then I begin to lose sight of me myself and I. I begin to lose sigh of the fact that the only definitions that matter are the ones from those I love. friend, sister, daughter, lover, chosen, loved, known, complete. Those are the definitions given by those that love me and I love and those are the things I want to hold to. watching the ambulance bounce down the highway and watching the fragility of life come before my eyes it took me a second to realize that sometimes I waste my life by gathering more titles, more things, but when it comes down to it, at the end of the day, the only thing that matters are those definitions. Thats the legacy we live.
I sat and listened to the sound of my heartbeat as I found myself on my face crying out to the one I love, tears streaming down my face, my heart pounding in my chest, my breathing becoming shallow and my eyes stinging from the tears. He picked me up, lifted a weight off my shoulders and reminded me of my definitions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.