Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Lake Baikal

One of the main reasons for doing this trip was to see Lake Baikal and it didn't disappoint. I'd opted to head to a much more remote village than the other, more touristy option. It was a small, scruffy place and the last stop on the road to this particularly bit of the lake.

I'd never appreciated fresh air as much as when I got out here, after spending 52 hours on a train - the air was pure and clean and plentiful. One of the highlights of my 2 night stay here was my first experience of a Russian banya - something very liberating about being starkers in a wood hut in a remote bit of Siberia, splashing lovely warm water everywhere. Oh and the pure vodka and the mountains of pancakes.

The worst bit by far was having to leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.