Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Magic and mindfulness

Sometimes on cold, grey lunchtimes I drop in at the lovely Inanna's Festival, a small but quite magical shop near where I work which stocks all kinds of books, gifts, music, jewellery, incense which celebrate the changing seasons and the magic that is all around us if only we can allow ourselves to be aware of it. Spending five or ten minutes in there browsing, listening to some atmospheric music and breathing in some gorgeous smell can be both uplifting and grounding in the middle of a busy day.

This image is of a tree in a pot (sorry, Naomi, I don't know what type of tree it is!) that stands outside the door and on this particular cold, grey lunchtime it was particularly uplifting to see it twinkling away.

I try to practise mindfulness whenever I can, being in the moment and of the moment, and here's my favourite 'meditation' in full - bits of it I've posted to accompany some of my earlier images:

Just for Today
I will try to live through this day only and not tackle my whole life problem at once. I can do something for 12 hours that would appal me if I felt that I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

I will be happy. Most people are as happy as they make up their mind to be.

I will adjust myself to what is, and not try to adjust everything to my own desires. I will take my 'luck' as it comes and fit myself into it.

I will try to strengthen my mind. I will study. I will learn something useful. I will not be a mental loafer. I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration.

I will exercise my soul in 3 ways: I will do somebody a good turn, and not get found out. If anyone knows of it, it will not count; I will do at leat 2 things that I don't want to - just for the sake of it; I will not show anyone that my feelings are hurt. They may be hurt, but today I will not show it.

I will be agreeable. I will look as well as I can, dress becomingly, talk quietly, act courteously, criticise not one bit, not find fault with anything and not try to improve or regulate anybody but myself.

I will have a programme. I may not follow it exactly, but I will have it. I will save myself from 2 pests: hurry and indecision.

I will have a quiet half hour all by myself, and relax. During this half-hour I will try to get a better perspective on my life.

I will be unafraid. Especially I will not be afraid to enjoy that which is beautiful, and to believe that as I give to the world, so the world will give to me.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.