A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

A good mommy moment

Yes, this blip is remarkably similar to yesterday's, with no apology. It's not my fault she's adopted a cooking pose.

For me this is more of a recording of doing the right thing to look back on those days when I don't get it right.

A busy day with a frantic start with a sick boy in the house and a girl crying at not being taken to school by one of her family. Other people's kids seem to be able to cope with things like that so much better than mine but hopefully it's just an age thing; J would have been cool with it now but less so at A's age. Anyway, it all resulted in a rather fraught morning and a mad dash to catch a train to Oxford with literally seconds to spare. Meeting went well with a good prospect of significant amounts of work so worth the mad dashing.

No real transition time to parenting role so when it came to cooking tea I was in total auto pilot mode and when A asked to help my initial reaction was a no. When I'm tired I find it easier (and quicker) to get on with things on my own. Fortunately I caught myself just in time and changed my answer. I can't discourage that sort of enthusiasm. And of course it was much more fun doing it together and did the trick in terms of shifting my headspace.

So a tiring but very good day. Just have to make sure it's not that full-on every day or I'll be on my knees. And my blips will become total Groundhog days.

Off for a soak and an early night.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.