Day of the Tripods

By geo1903

Sad Day

Corrie

You weren't a show dog
You weren't meant to be
You were to be our house buddy
A little friend for me

From Dundee's dog home
I remember when we got you
We knew you were the one
Even before we saw you

You were small and cute
Loved to run and play
Wagged your tail and chased it
You were spoiled every day

You loved being noticed
We had to pat your head
You loved sleeping on the sofa
Even though you had a bed

You always barked at Dad
Maybe cos it meant a treat
You protected me from everyone
Whether they had two or four feet

I know who came to get you
He told me he was here
I know that you are with them
And glad that you're all still near

You leave a big black hole
Eight years was not enough
Your time with us was too short
God bless, sleep tight, all our love.


By (a heartbroken) TM.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.