In shadow

The cave cooperative in the village, named after the Carignan grape, went bankrupt a couple of years ago, victim of management problems and the economic recession. It's a sad sight in a wine-producing village, but it isn't the only one that has had to close. As I was taking photos there this morning a passer-by called out to me to take photos now as the building won't be there for long. It is soon to be demolished, but it's unclear what will replace it.

There are still plenty of vine-growers around the village, but now they either make their own wine or take their grapes to cooperatives in other villages.

I know it's World Book Day today, but I've done a few book blips quite recently - here and here - so, with a chance to take photos outside, I decided to pass on this one.

I was pleased and surprised that my red cabbage reached the spotlight page yesterday. It tasted good too, cooked with onions, ground cumin and a little vinegar. There's some left for today too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.