Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Kodak Retinette

I very recently had the wonderful experience of taking up contact with my first "real" girlfriend after some 35 years of silence. "Breaking Up Is Hard to Do" is an appropriate song, & funnily enough came back to the charts for Sedaka at exactly that time (1976). Back in the early '70s, her father gave me this camera which I used for several years & then passed on to my father, who had never owned or used one. He had a great time with it and took many extremely good landscape photos with it. After he passed away a few years ago, I had it again, lying in a cupboard. I thought I ought to offer it back to the family it came from; there are now grand & great-grandchildren who never knew their great-grandfather. Hence, the photograph to send to the UK.

I have tried researching exactly what model it is. The nearest I can get is a Kodak Retinette I Type 30 (1958?), however I wonder as with other Retinettes, if there is a different model number, as this camera was only for the UK market, the focus scale being in feet. I have found a model 30/9 listed as being for the UK market but it's not mine. Anyone got an idea? The serial number is 99498

The Retinette has a quirky film counter, and I unfortunately opened the camera when there was a film inside. Closed it & tried shooting the rest of the film. The very last were just about OK (focus) but the colours were not right & there were clear signs, from one corner, that the camera had been opened. Shame as my father's last photos, from around 2000, were no doubt at the beginning of the film. Have bought a new film and will try again soon when spring has come & the colours outside are more than tones of grey & brown.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.