Plugging Away

By plugg

World Book Day

With selfless devotion to the cause, I observed World Book Day by holding my own event, at home, just Jonathan Frantzen and me.

I was interrupted for a while when I made the beginner's error of answering the door to a couple of Jehovah's Witnesses.

Because I am fundamentally nice, and very polite, I allowed them to steer the conversation from "not interested" into a fifteen minute debate, but I am proud to say that I skillfully steered the conversation away from Charles Darwin, where the JW's have well rehearsed arguments, to Louis Pasteur, where they do not.

You should have heard me rambling on, with no coherent point to make, about how Monsieur Pasteur has done so much to make the world a better place, while the JW rifled, and re-rifled through his mental scripts, wondering how to get back to safe ground.

Eventually I suggested that I had taken up enough of their time, and thanked them for the interesting discussion...

That reminds me, we're running low on semi-skimmed..





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.