Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

DELIGHT #worldbooknight

I get a feeling of delight whenever I open a new book. So as tonight is World Book Night, when everyone should share your favourite books, I thought I'd borrow an idea that others are using to share mine :

Douglas Adams - how to laugh and think new thoughts at the same time
Elmore Leonard - fast moving, easy reads. And his books were adapted to make two of my favourite films - "Get Shorty" and "Out of Sight"
Larry Niven - for my money the most innovative of Sci Fi authors
Ian Rankin - bit of a cheat here - represents a favourite genre, the police procedural, along with Christopher Fowler, Mark Billingham and Peter James
Graham Greene - second cheat - represents the great Penguin authors along with Evelyn Waugh, E M Forster and Aldous Huxley - just the spines and logo bring back memories of my teens
Harris, Tucker and Vinnicombe - biggest cheat of all! - had to have a bird book, and this one, whilst out of print, has beautiful, helpful, illustrations
Terry Pratchett - in my mind I've left the best to last - outdoing Douglas Adams, his books work on so many levels - even when you've guessed the gag pages before

I hope someone picks up a new author from this and gets as much enjoyment from them as I have.

The real irony is that I can't seem to concentrate long enough to read a full book at the moment. Ah well, I'll be patient. It is a gift worth waiting for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.