Jostijn

By Jostijn

Church of Tilburg

This is the church of my hometown Tilburg,
not a very nice one, but the architecture is
a bit like the one from yesterday.

Carnaval is in town. The city is full of people
dressed up funny.

Carnival in the Netherlands is also called
"Vastenavond" or "Vastelaovend", and is most
celebrated in Catholic regions, mainly the southern
provinces North Brabant and Limburg. Dutch Carnival
is celebrated on the Saturday through Tuesday
preceding Ash Wednesday. Although traditions vary
from town to town, some common characteristics of
Dutch Carnival include a parade, a "prince" plus
cortège ("Council of 11"), a farmer's wedding
(boerenbruiloft), and eating herring (haring happen)
on Ash Wednesday.


But...it's not really my kind of party. It has never
been that way. Trapped up with so many people
in one bar, I don't like it. On the other hand, my
colleagues were great, I had a lot of fun with them.

Tonight I work at the theatre with carnaval. That's
a lot better. I can work and serve beer, and have
fun with my colleagues at the same time.
That's what I'm looking forward to!

Have a great weekend you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.