ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Looking up the Charles River

Today has been the last day of my Boston conference. I had a really interesting and fruitful morning, with two excellent panels including one on the emerging area of the sociology of the European Union. I met a potential research collaborator for lunch then slipped out of the conference to take some photos and do a little doing for an essential ipad accessory (an ipad to vga adaptor for doing presentations; I borrowed one from somebody yesterday and found it a great success). It has been great renewing acquaintance with this city where I lived for 6 months in 1998.

Sloping back now for the post conference reception.

Update: I meant to say that (a) the river is still sort of frozen, with a veneer of meltwater on top, giving that sheen; and (b) it is soooo much warmer than yesterday. Yesterday was -5 c but was 'feels like -11 c because of the wind'. Today has been at least +10 c, but really really warm in the sun. I was warm enough to wander around outside with no coat and just a cardigan on. I remember these sharp shifts in temperature from before. One morning, in 1998 when we were here before, when my son left for school at 7 30 am there was still snow on the ground. By mid afternoon it was at least 20 degrees and the snow had all gone. Wierd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.