Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Walking over the River Forth

This afternoon my husband and I had an unexpected couple of hours to ourselves, so we did something we had never done before.

Walked from Dalmeny Village to the Forth Road Bridge. Not all the way across, just as far as the first pillar, but if we'd had more time we would have done. Another day maybe.

Met a lovely man this evening, Cameron Black, who's written a book (called The Saint Andrew's Way) about walking the pilgrim's way from Edinburgh to St Andrews - a long-distance walk of some 70 miles. I'm looking forward to walking parts of it. He also said that I'd bought the 99th copy.

But I think he'll sell more.

He also told me that he'd been to Crail on his holidays and showed me a photograph he had of his father standing on the beach at Roome Bay in 1954 - the very place I was walking along last weekend. He told me the name of the hotel his family had stayed at, but I don't think it's there any more.

I couldn't look up at the towers of the bridge when we were standing by them, but it wasn't so bad when I looked though my lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.