Floating Weeds

By floatingweeds

Sophie Calle, an Anthroposophist?

More social therapy training this morning - "12 Senses and the Environment". In the final week, all the participants have to do a presentation based on what we have learnt, and to demonstrate how we have engaged with Steiner's ideas of social therapy. One thing that the canteen workshop at Garvald try to practice, is the anthroposophical diet - a grain and colour for each day of the week.......

Sunday, white/wheat
Monday, purple/rice
Tuesday, red/barley
Wednesday, yellow/millet
Thursday, orange/rye
Friday, green/oats
Saturday, blue/corn

.....it reminds me of The Chromatic Diet that the artist Sophie Calle follwed as part of her work "Double Game". She invited the author Paul Auster to create a fictional character whom she could attempt to resemble. The character was "Maria" from the book "Leviathan", and one of the things that Maria did in the book, was to follow a diet of colour-coordinated meals. You can see images from The Chromatic Diet here, and here.

So what with my interest in grains, colour, and synaesthesia, I can't resist an opportunity like this to try the diet for myself! I will call it "The Synaesthetic Diet (After Calle)", and it will begin on Sunday (like the good catholic girl that I am!) with white food and wheat. I will document the project through blipfoto...

...after considering Steiner's ideas about the environment, I went home and had a little spring clean - some of the balons came down.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.