The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Dulcie May

I was engrossed in a number of activities at home today and had to prise myself out of the house, but was delighted to find the sun shining, glimmering and casting a warm golden glow on all it touched. I pulled the car up in Cock Road, a narrow lane near Rowde, to look at some cart horses. There were some way away in a field and although I had their attention I failed to interest them sufficiently for them to stroll over to the gate where I stood.

I parked in Martinslade, where I had parked in January when the planned towpath walk was roped off for some engineering works. This time all was clear and I had a most enjoyable stroll down to the bridge at Sells Green and some way beyond, looking at the narrowboats and the ducks on the canal. I heard and then saw a pair of buzzards, and there were some geese and gulls around too.

One boat had a pair of wall charts stencilled on either side of the rear entrance, depicting the kinds of birds and wildlife one would be likely to encounter. It was very decorative, but I would imagine most of the bargees would be too familiar with such flora and fauna to need to consult it.

As I emerged from under the bridge at Spout Lane, I got this picture of a boatman buffing the side of his narrowboat, and only after I had taken the shot I realised that it was the Dulcie May, as blipped in Martinslade on my last visit. It is very rare for people to appear in my pictures, and this is the first time on Blip that anyone has made a return appearance. This time I was able to have a chat.

Lens: Sigma 70-300mm

Alternatives:
Farm Horses
Kennet & Avon Near Spout Lane Bridge
Silhouette
Wall Chart



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.