Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Tank

Man, a stinking hot and windy day here today. It's known to drive people mad ...

At lunch I shot thru the tunnel to the other side of the Port Hills to Lyttleton, the port of Christchurch. It's funny, locals don't really go there too much, as "it's the port", but it's fantastic.

Today I went to a part I had never been before, slightly ashamedly given how long I have lived here. I discovered we have a dry dock, I saw where the marina was that got destroyed by a big storm a few years back, I found where they are manufacturing the pipes of the ocean outfall for our "refined sewerage". In fact that was probably the most interesting part - the pipes are HUGE and they are THICK, just as well - don't want that sewerage leaking out. It appears the pipes are being extruded on the waterfront the transported out. How about that Barking and Canterbury - they are going under your beach.

And then I saw these guys, painting these big tanks (for oil I guess) in the heat and high winds. Man, was I glad not to be in their shoes!

I am going to be spending a lot more time at the port, with my camera, not a paint brush ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.