BIRDS, BIRDS, AND MORE BIRDS

I opened the bedroom curtains this morning to see a sky full of birds. The Starlings again. And rushing into the back bedroom I saw they had all landed on the same tree as last week. The branches were bowed under their weight and the sound was incredible. After last week's estimated count, we reckoned there to be between five and six thousand today!

I grabbed my camera and went down to the kitchen, just as the cat hurtled in through his catflap scared stiff at the cacophony outside. Once the back door was unlocked and open I stood and shivered in my dressing gown taking pictures for about 15 minutes, before they fell silent for a few seconds and then, with a mighty whooshing of wings, they all took off at once and dispersed for the day.

What an incredible sight. These photos show the laden branches, the take off, and the empty tree after they had departed. I thought there were a lot of Starlings in this one, last week, but not a patch on today.

Again I was glad my car was safely in the garage. I think the cat wished he was in there too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.