The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Nagshead

A rare back blip!
Went out all day yesterday to RSPB Nagshead in the Forest of Dean. I've been wanting to visit this reserve for a while.
For once, my aim was not to try and get a shot of some woodland birds, I just wanted to enjoy the ambience of a woodland walk. It was just as well, as wildlife was few and far between, but the scenery was breathtaking. You could almost feel the woods wanting to burst into life, but this cold snap we are experiencing has held Spring back!
It was a gloriously sunny afternoon, and the light playing on the various dead trees made for some interesting effects. I opted for this one in the end, as I liked the stark contrast against the blue skies behind.
One the birding front, we saw a few blue tits, great tits, goldcrests and nuthatches. But the stars of the show were a lovely tree creeper and mistle thrush as we were leaving.
I am now 99% certain I could a brief glimpse of a Goshawk doing display flights through the canopy.
We went onto my brothers afterwards for Sunday Lunch/Tea, and by the time me got back to South Wales it was far too late to be firing up the PC and editing photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.