Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Film Strip

This is a discarded piece of 35mm motion picture film from an upcoming movie trailer made using a 6 shot rack focus. (Read below.)

Good start of the work week Monday.

Enlarge


Caution Tech Stuff:


I saw this done as a demo piece to a Photoshop hands on.

I took a piece of white matte board and using a hot glue gun cemented the film clip onto the board. Using a white shooting cocoon I took 6 identical shots with each one having a different focus point. I shot them all with the mirror locked up.

In Photoshop I loaded all 6 shots into 6 separate layers and used the auto align feature. Then I used Photoshop's "Auto blend layers" which mixes only the sharpest parts together.

I then flattened the image and with the stamp tool and the spot healing brush I removed the hot glue marks and cleaned up blemishes in the film. A little level adjustment to bring out the whites and the blacks, a crop and a touch of sharpness to make it pop and we're done. Looks pretty good....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.