Buckley Hughes World

By buckleyhughes

International Women's Day

So, to celebrate International Women's Day, here's a pic of four truly inspiring women. Left to right they are Annie Kenney, Christabel Pankhurst, Emmeline Pankhurst, Sylvia Pankhurst.

Without them I probably wouldn't have been able to do many of things I've done today: I hope I never ever take my luck for granted, and remember to thank them for their vision and sacrifices to enable me to be who I am and live the life I live.

That said, I find things like the Guardian's top 100 list a little disappointing. I don't think they'd ever print a list of the top 100 men in any specific sphere... I know they mean well, but really gender shouldn't play a part in how influential a person is. If they think and act well, they should inspire.

I think there should be a gender-blind day. That might open a few eyes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.