biddybid

By biddybid

that was the observatory

As I cowered under my desk I could see a cloud of white dust out the window, where the observatory had been. This picture was taken with my phone just a minute or so after the 6.3 earthquakeat 12.51pm.

When I arrived for work this morning I walked past a bunch of guys in fluoro vests and hard hats arriving to work on fixing up the Observatory, damaged by last year's 7.1 earthquake. They were opening up the temporary fencing which you can see mid-shot. I hope the 3 guys to the left are those same guys, although I am still haunted by people calling out to the pile of rubble "Hello, is there anybody in there?"

The Arts Centre is the former university of Christchurch (up to early 1970s), and I work upstairs in the building on the right, Old Chemistry. See my blip of 2 November 2010 which shows the earthquake strengthening in our office.

The round structure mid-shot had been as high as the building it is attached to, and then with a dome on top. Given the age of these buildings, I wasn't entirely surprised that bits fell. I was totally surprised to find that relatively modern buildings in the city had collapsed, taking 2 of my friends, and several friends of friends - everybody knows somebody lost.

I've only just blipped this on 9 March, due to a combination of a week without power, still no internet at home, juggling other priorities in life, and not being able to put these words together any sooner.

I am so grateful for what I have got, especially the people around me, and that includes you all. Thanks for your concern and support

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.