Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Angela

Had my hair cut today, hooray!

Meet Angela, the wonderful Sardinian lady who's been my hairdresser for the last 21 years. I found her by accident when I got lost in an unfamiliar city. Her salon had just opened and bouquets of flowers from well wishers were still fresh in the front window. I stood outside for a long time watching her cut a customer's hair and was struck by how natural her movements were, as if she'd been born to cut hair. On impulse I walked in and had my hair cut. She did such a terrific job that she's been my hairdresser ever since. My hair is the one thing I'm vain about, and a good hairdresser is not a luxury as far as I'm concerned, it's a necessity. In my lifetime, I've had average haircuts from experienced hairdressers and, once, a catastrophic haircut from a snooty high society hairdresser who had no feeling for hair at all. Angela styles my hair using only a straight razor, something many hairdressers won't attempt because of the precision it requires. I don't know how she does it, but my hair keeps its shape months after it's been cut. The hallmark of a good hairdresser? Being stopped in the street by strangers who want to know where I get my hair cut.

I thought she made an ideal subject for International Women's Day. What would she have made of Dame Daniel Craig's locks, I wonder?


Angela Renti
Rue des Braseurs, 45
5000 Namur

T 081 - 22 08 76

Tuesday to Saturday, 8h30 to 18h


~ A backblip. Have turned stars back on to see what the fuss is all about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.