Nastia's Slow Little Days

By Anastasia

Spring, Is That You?

Documentary Day 2, after Friday, for research and stock material for my landscape library while I work on some design projects toward the betterment of this godforsaken town.

I went around the neighborhood looking for textures and inspirations for my landscape projects, landing in the park, where I ended up making an attempt at being a squirrel-whisperer, but whatever magic spell Trail has, I don't really have so it involved using a lot of zoom on a not-so-great camera and otherwise spooking silly squirrels.

And then I ended up back to my usual favorite spot, the blue holiday-light-spangled bushes outside "my" apartment building. And that's when I discovered that the one redeeming quality of my crappy Olympus camera is its macro settings. My last shot of the day put what look like some promising buds in focus in the foreground.

The more it looks like early spring is settling in, the more I have to adjust to the fact that yes, even spring has its ugly side, when the ugly slush melts and reveals unhappy ground underneath. It's amazing that I manage to forget this simple fact year after year. I always seem to expect a sudden joyful May with a whole darn jubilee to boot. It's almost here, though. Almost here. So much cause to be optimistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.