Judith's photos

By Judith

Headless!

I often say that I rush around like a headless chicken but at least my head is still attached to my shoulders, unlike this poor chap!

I spotted this monument in the churchyard of St Peter and St Paul in Wincanton. The inscription says that it is "in memory of Nathaniel Ireson master builder who erected this monument to himself and family". Nathaniel was a potter, architect, mason and businessman who built Stourhead House and who produced Delftware pottery. He built Ireson House in Wincanton, which is in Ireson Lane. Nathaniel also designed his monument but I can't help wondering why he put his head by his feet!

Edit: he didn't put his head by his feet, he's been vandalised! There is a 'headed' photo here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.