wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Tired

Did you ever see this shot? I have a confession to make. That rusty yellow box is ours. The lid is held on with rusty wire through rusty loops, it leaks, and I swear the postman sometimes just boycotts it and refuses to deliver our mail.

Well, until the weekend that was. Now our letterbox is shiny, white, and generic. It has very little character, but it keeps the mail drier, and we've been receiving lots of mail, so it must be doing its job.

The old one's now in retirement, on the junk pile next to the house, probably to go to the tip (dump) sometime. The grass around it is long, and it looks quite out of place. Walking past this morning I thought it had a lot of potential for blipping. This afternoon I headed out to see what I could do, lined up a shot, shifted a little, lined up, focussed, realigned, prepared to press the trigger and... the phone rang inside. I was waiting for a call, so quickly pressed the button, ran inside and missed the phone. Decided to leave that shot for another day (my feet were wet from the grass), and thought I'd go for a nice shot of tea tins. Looked at the options on my computer after, and this one just had to be used. But you'll see the tins sometime, and probably this letter box again as nature takes it over (sometimes we're quite slow with taking things to the tip).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.