Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

Brr....

So I hear the little groundhog saw his shadow today...six more weeks of winter...wonderful ;)

I'm officially over winter. Temperatures were not that bad today, but it was still very frigid. Went out for a short walk - the park was packed full of people...mostly dog owners who had no choice but to go on a walk! Dogs are creatures of habit...no matter how cold it is - they will bug you to take them out!

Despite the leash law - nobody really follows it...the dogs mostly stick around their owners. They looked so happy! My eyes fixed on a German Sheppard...his owner was ahead of him...the dog stood still. I continued to watch...he took a few steps and stopped...the owner looked back and hollered for him. A couple of more steps...then he stopped again.

I walked by and noticed he was an old pup...poor thing could barely even walk. You can just tell the pain in his eyes. He looked up at me and then back down at the ground. I glanced at the owner and he smiled and said hello. I said hello back and noticed his eyes...they were filled with sadness. I could feel the tears building.

I asked if the dog was OK...he smiled and said yes...just old age. I continued to walk...glanced back and the Sheppard was still trying to catch up w/ the owner. I can't even imagine what the owner was feeling...its hard to deal with when we realize our pets are no longer puppies...my heart went out to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.