As seen by me...

By GrantR

Edinburgh Sunset and Storm

What a day of weather in Edinburgh? So, with the weather in mind I headed off to Calton Hill for the sunset tonight, in a couple of weeks the sun will set over St James Centre and that'll be the end of sunset season on Calton till October. Full orange sun in the sky when I left, dull with rain in the wind at Calton 20 minutes later when I arrived.

Started off trying to do some long exposure stuff with the filters but to be honest, the wind was so bad it was almost impossible to keep the camera steady for a long exposure shot. So, with that in mind, off came the filters and I switched to doing some HDR with shorter exposures.

And I'm glad I did. Came back with a nice haul of shots in the twilight. The clouds were moving so much the scene was changing minute on minute, glad I hung about as the rain cleared and we got the tail end of a sunset. Sometimes it's worth getting freezing cold for!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.