Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Lantern Light

I appear to have given up attempting to take pretty pictures or it's given me up. Either way, I hope it's just temporary. Maybe just for Lent!

Pictured here is the workshop of a local craftsman, Yiannis, who makes handmade metal lanterns and other small metal objects. When I first came to Symi this was Yiannis' grandfather's workshop. He's the old man shown in the two photographs hanging among the lanterns on the wall. You can also see the reflection of Yiannis in the mirror. At the time I took the snap he was getting ready to start work and I didn't want to disturb him too much but he has agreed to let me take some snaps of him working some time in the near future so I hope to be able to Blip the craftsman at work soon.

Edit: I've just re-read this and it also appears that I've given up writing anything remotely interesting. Oh dear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.