Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Westend Spires.

My night-time wanderings around Edinburgh may have had a wee bit of an effect on my painting. This is my first attempt at buildings and, ok, not too difficult to do a silhouette but I'm quite pleased with it - which is unusual for me! Although I've done a lot of night photography lately (this is more dusk of course) this was actually loosely based on a photograph I blipped about a year ago. Sometimes it takes awhile for what you see to come out in what you paint ;)

Mum and I were at the Killearnan Art Group today which was lots of fun. This particular painting was already newly finished so I was starting something fresh and splashing lots of bright red paint around - which I will then completely obliterate no doubt. It's always exciting to begin a new painting, it's when you get halfway through it becomes difficult...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.