Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Underground Art Deco - Park Royal

A snapshot today - a view I've seen many times but never really looked at from this perspective as I've normally got other things on my mind when I come here.

One of the many iconic stations on the Underground. I went to the office to pick up the paperwork for my next tour (The Laurentian Singers tour of Normandy & Paris, since you ask). This is the view from the car park. I love it because it is Deco but at the same time no-nonsense - not many fine details. It's functional, sturdy and conveys a sense of reliability, which probably reflected the way the Tube was in the 1930's.

I took one other shot today (posted in my Blipfolio) when I did a U-turn in someone's driveway. The sign was by the gate of a private house - the gate was shut!

I've also put up an album of rodeo pics For anyone who's interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.