Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Still water and sunshine

Sunshine glints off the wet sand on Filey bay this afternoon.

I woke up early today with high hopes of setting off somewhere interesting to see and photograph, even just enjoying the drive...
Then the news came through of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan, and I switched on the TV, turning to Japanese NHK TV. I was astounded, shocked and saddened at the magnitude of what was happening, still happening. I was transfixed, each new piece of footage more unbelievable than the last, as Japan was battered, rocked and literally swept away.
I haven't watched a major event like that, live and unmissable, since 9/11.
After a couple of hours or so, I turned off the TV and went out for fresh air and a walk, unlike the people of Japan.
Only later, downloading this photo, did it occur to me that still or gently running water is often a feature of Japanese art and relaxation...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.