Five things

By fivethings

Your Cheatin' heart

1. These are the boots I have lugged around in all day. I love them, don't get me wrong, but they weigh a tonne. The more the day goes on the more I feel each step. But they look good and they are made of very soft suede.

2. When I look at these boots they remind me of the illustrations by John Byrne that went with Your Cheatin Heart. I loved Your Cheatin Heart. My parents had introduced me to John Byrne with Tutti Fritti but Your Cheatin Heart felt like mine. It felt like I had discovered it. Every second page of the script was illustrated with a drawing of a cowboy boot, not unlike this one here.

3. It was a logical step to start to listen to Hank Williams. Around the same time, my dad had given me the tip that I might want to watch a film that was showing late at night (I had the black and white portable in my room). That film was The Last Picture Show and every bit of music in it was by Hank Williams. Discovering that two such separate things were connected blew my mind.

4. We're listening to Hank Williams now. 'I'm so lonesome I could die' is a stunning song. 'The silence a falling star lights up a purple sky and as I wonder where you are, I'm so lonesome I could die.'

5. A Friday night filled with Hank Williams, amazing salads, memories and plans for the future. Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.