must try harder

By halfcj

You old softie!

I couldn't have had a more contrasting day after yesterday's blip of hostility. Don't know if any of you looked at the large version, but I think you can see both guys 'eyeballing' me, the one on the right most vigourously.

No, today it was different. I was doing shoot for a retired couple. He needed a shot for a brochure of some outfit he was becoming a 'regional' President of, a fund raising organisation similar to the Rotary Club called Probus. I was not particularly familiar with them before we started shooting. More so now. They both needed passport photos and thought it would be a good idea to have some portraits done whilst they were at it. [Christmas presents I would guess....look out kids!]....and what a lovely couple they were.

In many ways, they reminded me of my own mum and dad. she fussed over him, brushing him down, picking bits off his jacket, his trusty old blazer that was obviously loved. She straightened his tie, pushed the knot tighter into his collar, brushed him down, pulled at the bottom of his jacket, brushed him down, chased her hands across the top of his shoulders in an outward movement as if it may make the now baggy shoulders adhere to the shape of his shoulders, but it wouldn't, brushed him down, tugged at the sleeves to make sure all the creases would fall out, brushed him down, told him off for smiling (never can understand that!), "you shouldn't show your teeth for this shot John!" she barked. (My dad's name is John too!). She eventually turned back to her seat, John seizing the opportunity to loosen the tie now choking him whilst her back was turned.

Don't misunderstand, it's not that they didn't get on, quite the opposite. Doubtless they wouldn't be able to get on without each other. It was a partnership. I could see it worked. I could see affection. He proffered humour. She ignored with the occasional eyes to heaven 'look' most women I know seem to have mastered. And yet, for all her leadership qualities, her ability to take control of the situation, the husband, the art directing, the schedule and of course the photographer, there was a vulnerbility.

When it came to having her photgraph taken, I could tell she was very nervous. Very apprehensive. Only after the shoot did I discover why. She was very conscious of her wrinkles. I tried to pass on a blippers advise to me ,which was that "wrinkles show you where the laughter has been", but that didn't wash. No, she made me promise to "try and make her look good" (her words not mine), airbrush out the wrinkles...."...Don't worry, you look fantastic, and lovely grey eyes!" (those were my words!). She blushed, but grabbed my wrist and firmly instructed "No Wrinkles!"

So my challenge for tonight's blip was to produce a photo without actually airbrushing/retouching and achieving her objective. Now I guess the question is, when is retouching not retouching? you will see I have combined several techniques in PS to achieve a softened illustrative portrait, which the technical intransigents amongst you may call retouching, but I call retouching using brushes in some way to remove and replace, with other parts of an image. Whereas I have just used Actions on several layers to soften, blend and pull though certain features to create a soft illustrative portrait. Unsure if it has worked. Too close to the woods to see the trees.

Hope she likes it. That'll be the acid test. If she doesn't, I guess I take a trip down memory lane with a clip around the ear! I'll try not to whinge out loud... "Owwww mum!!!"

PS - the wrinkles quote was from blipper Partyof5...so thanks again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.